Paola Egonu

Paola Egonu in action for Italy

Italy coach Davide Mazzanti will be able to count on the players who recently won the Volleyball Nations League to compete for honours at the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship in the Netherlands and Poland from September 23 to October 15.

Nine of the players who won silver at the most recent edition of the World Championship in 2018 are included in the 14-player selection for the 2022 tournament. They include: Monica De Gennaro, Cristina Chirichella, Ofelia Malinov, Anna Danesi, Marina Lubian, Miryam Sylla, Elena Pietrini, Paola Egonu and Sylvia Nwakalor.

Setters: Alessia Orro, Ofelia Malinov.

Outside hitters: Miryam Sylla (C), Elena Pietrini, Caterina Bosetti, Alessia Gennari.

Opposites: Paola Egonu, Sylvia Nwakalor.

Middle blockers: Marina Lubian, Cristina Chirichella, Anna Danesi, Sara Bonifacio.

Liberos : Monica De Gennaro, Eleonora Fersino.

Italy play their first match of the Women's World Championship against Cameroon. The match takes place at 15:00 local time / 13:00 GMT on Saturday. Watch all the action on Volleyball TV.