Argentina (ARG) vs. Canada (CAN) men - Pool C #7176232

Sammelvuo brought back 13 of the 14 players that appeared in the Olympic Qualifier last year

With a spot at the Paris 2024 Olympics guaranteed, Canada's men’s national team will enter the upcoming international season with a squad comprised of 18 players, who were announced by second-year head coach Tuomas Sammelvuo.

These athletes will represent the country at the Volleyball Nations League 2024, which starts in May, and will fight for the 13 spots in the squad that will compete at the Olympics, later in July.

  • Watch the VNL live and on demand on VBTV.

Starting his second season with the team, Sammelvuo maintained the core of the roster that earned the Olympic spot at last year’s Volleyball Olympic Qualifying Tournament, bringing back 13 of the 14 players that represented the country in Xi’an, China – opposite Jordan Canham is the only absence.

Joining that group will be opposite Xander Ketrzynski, outside hitters Ryley Barnes and Samuel Cooper and middle blockers Jackson Howe and Fynn McCarthy.

The squad looks particularly strong at outside hitter, where captain Nicholas Hoag, Eric Loeppky and Stephen Maar all appear as interesting options. Other key players in the roster are opposite Arthur Szwarc and setter Luke Herr.

The Maple Volleys will hold their traditional season-opening ‘Red and White Match’, an intrasquad scrimmage, on May 11, in Gatineau, as they finalize their preparations for the VNL 2024.

The Canadians will be in Antalya, Türkiye, in the opening week of the VNL, where they will face the hosts, Poland, Bulgaria and Slovenia from May 21-25.

  • Get your VNL merchandise now by clicking here
  • Sync the VNL 2024 with your calendar here

Canada men’s national team full roster (subject to eligibility check to be conducted by the FIVB):

Setters: Brett Walsh, Luke Herr
Opposites: Arthur Szwarc, Xander Ketrzynski
Outside hitters: Brodie Hofer, Eric Loeppky, Nicholas Hoag, Ryley Barnes, Samuel Cooper, Stephen Maar
Middle blockers: Danny Demyanenko, Fynn McCarthy, Jackson Howe, Jordan Schnitzer, Lucas Van Berkel, Pearson Eshenko
Liberos: Justin Lui, Landon Currie

Quick links:
Volleyball Nations League
Subscribe to Volleyball World's Newsletter