Men's Club World Championship 2022 - News

F 01

Giannelli's incredible 2022 season now also includes a Club World Championship MVP award

If the 2022 season wasn’t already remarkable enough for Simone Giannelli, it certainly became even more so on Sunday, when the Italian setter led his team Sir Safety Susa Perugia to their first Men’s Club World Champs title in Betim, Brazil, while also taking home the tournament’s Most Valuable Player award.

Just three months ago, the 26-year-old Giannelli was in a similar position as he led his country’s national team to victory at the 2022 FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship and was also selected as the top player in the tournament. He’s the only player to have earned MVP awards at both tournaments.

· All matches of the Club World Champs 2022 are available on demand on Volleyball TV.

Although Perugia’s victory was built with the participation of many of the team’s stars, Giannelli stayed on the court for more time than any other player as he started all four matches the Italian team played this week in Betim. He ended the Club World Championship with 19 points (ten kills, four blocks, five aces) and also registered 11 digs.

“We’ve just made history for Perugia,” Giannelli told Volleyball World. “It’s the first world title for the club and I’m very proud to have done it with my teammates. It’s a really important title and everybody did great, players and coaching staff. We built a really strong squad this season and we developed a great relationship within the team. Tonight, we needed every single player to win and everyone delivered.”

The Italian setter had two other Perugia teammates by his side in the tournament’s Dream Team while silver medallists Trentino Itas also had three players selected and third-placed Sada Cruzeiro Vôlei had one.

Best Setter: Simone Giannelli (Sir Safety Susa Perugia)

Best Opposite: Matey Kaziyski (Trentino Itas)

Best Outside Hitters: Alessandro Michieletto (Trentino Itas) and Wilfredo Leon (Sir Safety Susa Perugia)

Best Middle Blockers: Marko Podrascanin (Trentino Itas) and Flavio Gualberto (Sir Safety Susa Perugia)

Best Libero: Lukas ‘Lukinha’ de Deus (Sada Cruzeiro Vôlei)

MVP: Simone Giannelli (Sir Safety Susa Perugia)