National teams from 16 countries will fight for the title of the first-ever edition of the tournament

The pools for the inaugural edition of the FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U17 World Championship are now formed as the drawing of lots for the event was completed on Wednesday.

The 16 national teams from five continents were allocated into four pools and are now aware of their opponents in the first round of the tournament, which will be held in Lima, Peru, from August 17-24.

Hosts Peru will be in Pool A, where they will face continental rivals Brazil, the Dominican Republic and Canada. Pool B will feature Türkiye, Thailand, China and Ecuador.

Pool C has teams from four different continents in Italy, Argentina, Egypt and Mexico. Japan leads Pool D, where it will be faced with Croatia, Puerto Rico and the Chinese Taipei.


The first edition of the Girls’ U17 World Championship, which starting in 2024 will be held every two years, will have 56 matches during the seven days of competition.

Teams will face their pool opponents in the first three days in order to determine their positions ahead of the start of the playoffs. All 16 national teams will advance to the Round of 16, with the winners progressing for the quarterfinals and the losers battling in the playoffs to determine positions from 9th-16th.